Silencio.

Good News! Three weeks after my benign keloid “Fibroma” was removed, I finally felt like a human again.

IMG_4110

I can eat normal foods, I could talk, I have my energy back, my “color is good”, according to my dad, who puts great weight on color and apparently likes the blowsy cheeks of a nice Irish/Scottish/English/German girl. My sleep sounds are less “dying seal” and more “injured seal”, and much less frequent. Thanks to the purchase of a wedge pillow, my head is elevated and my airway stays more open. I can breathe a LITTLE BIT better than before the surgery, and A LOT better than after the anasthesia wore off after the surgery.

This morning, I went in to have my vocal cord polyp lasered off in an in-office procedure. I’m not gonna lie to you – I’m took a couple of Ativan before hand. Can you imagine having a scope with a laser on the end shoved up your right nostril and down your throat, while watching on a TV screen as it snakes its way down to your vocal cords?  I watched giddily last time, but had I not been on a mind-altering anti anxiety medication I probably would have simply shut my eyes and meditated. I was not in a position to watch today, but I got a marvelous and funny running commentary from Matt, who watched, wide-eyed and in awe, the entire time!

Then?

SILENCE.

For two weeks.

I am not allowed to speak for two weeks.

It’s a good idea. I don’t want to ruin the fine work that the Laryngologist, Dr. Carroll, at Brigham & Womens, performs, for the sake of ease of communication.  I have this grand idea about wearing a chalk board around my neck like Louis the swan from Trumpet of the Swan.  But in reality, I carry a little notebook, and anything I can’t communicate by facial expression, gestures, and body language is relayed with messy notes. I’ve already had to rewrite a few for the kids who evidently haven’t had enough experience reading grown up scribble not created by an elementary school teacher!

Can-sah has taught me much, but these latest issues carry a certain weight. These latest issues have not only affected my comfort; they’ve affected my lifestyle and my career. The lessons that stick like peanut butter to the roof of a mouth after not being able to breathe well and a stint of painful talking:

SLOW DOWN

SAVOR YOUR TIME

I’m off for two weeks and I’m planning on following these guidelines every day.

And now to appeal to your inquisitive natures: a photo of me wearing my Janet Jackson impersonating device, my personal amplifier. I’m hamming it up for the camera; I don’t think I actually use this gesture while teaching! (But maybe I do! Oops!)

image

 

 

image

And here are Matt and I while I had the lidocaine French fries (A Fish Called Wanda reference, they were really cotton strips!) up my nostrils and breathing in a lidocaine nebulizer to numb me up before the procedure. The glasses were to protect us from the “lasers”.

 

Please wish me luck with my silencio! I can’t wait to hear the sound of my new voice.

with gratitude and big love,

em

11 thoughts on “Silencio.

  1. Wow, Em! You really ARE having fun. You and Matt put a smile on my face even in the middle of all this. Truly, you have earned your super hero cape and your rest. I hope you have a creative, peaceful little reprieve as a happy homemaker and IF YOU WANT COMPANY I’ll will happily come and talk to and for you! Seriously…. Want me to come down? The fabulous thing we have achieved (after 18 years of me being the primary childcare provider) by Judah staying HOME to go to college is…. I NOW HAVE A BUILT IN BABYSITTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Buts, shhhhh….. I don’t think he has quite caught on, and I like having him here. Plus he bakes brownies!!!!

    Love you, love to see you!!!!!! But if I would just completely annoy you, I understand!

    Love,

    Rue

  2. This is going to be quite an experience! Communication is such a basic thing that we pretty much never think about and now you’re going to be thinking about it constantly. BUT, I think this is going to give you some amazing insights into that communication. At the end of the two weeks I predict you’re going to be looking at it in a whole new way. How you communicate, when, what details you can leave out, what details you desperately want the time to write. And how silence is a very potent communicator combined with eyes, facial expressions, hand gestures and more. Your family and friends are going to miss your voice for a little while. Not talking is going to frustrate the heck out of you but it’s also going to give you time to think about what you really want to say. Fascinating stuff. I hope you find lots of non-verbal activities to enjoy your two weeks in ways that you never thought of. Looking forward to seeing you back when it’s over!

    • Such a beautifully written response, Dee…I treasure this! Thank you so much. You have a wonderful writer’s voice. I’ve always enjoyed your Just the FacS, and now I get my own personal essay on the blog. Thank you!

  3. Oh, Em! My kids have vows of silence challenges in school for… as long as they can ….! It’ll be an interesting experiment! You dear person …. and brave you! SOOOOO glad those danged things are gone! Much love! Libbet

    • Thanks so much, Libbet! How old are these vows of silence kids? My dad used to make me have ONE HOUR of silence a day. Guess what I did? WROTE NOTES! For the solid hour. I’m incorrigible!

  4. A silent Emily is hard to wrap my head around LOL. While you are doing your Marcel Marseau for the next 2 weeks, I will be thinking of you and sending healing waves your way. Love you bunches Ms. Mle ❤

  5. Hello my sweet cousin,

    Wow, congratulations and best wishes for the next 2 weeks on the siliencio! yoi! ( that’s pittsburgh slang)( well myron cope speak)yoi and double yoi!

    You make that look like FUN. it looks like you are at laser tag

    thanks for the updates, love you guys

    big kisses

    Hey did I mention that I think your husband is just so scrumdiddlyummtious! what a sweetie.

    ________________________________

  6. wow!! I can’t imagine not speaking for two weeks!! you are amazing!! the lessons that will come out of this will be fascinating!! of course we will have to wait two weeks to hear you tell of them. loving this bloggy thing you do, don’t stop!!! I went on retreat once that had silent breakfast, discovered that I could only manage silent coffee, one small cup of silent coffee!!

Leave a comment